

2019 Annual Report of the SAA

The Sequence Analysis Association (SAA) was created during the International Symposium on Sequence Analysis and Related Methods (ISSA) held on the 10-12 October 2018 at Monte Verità.

The participants at the Symposium attended the Constituent General Assembly on Oct 10, 2019 and constituted the initial members of the SAA. The constituent assembly approved a preliminary version of the statutes, elected Gilbert Ritschard as president, and appointed Christian Brzinsky-Fay, Brendan Halpin, Satu Helske, Tim Liao, Raffaella Piccarreta, Emanuela Struffolino, and Matthias Studer as members of the Executive Committee (EC). The assembly also nominated Mark Scott and Aart Liefbroer as auditors.

The EC met six times between October 2018 and November 2019.

On mandate of the constituent assembly, the EC finalized the statutes. The updated statutes were approved by an online ballot on Nov 13, 2018.

The following scholars accepted to join the Advisory Board:

- Andrew Abbott, University of Chicago (USA)
- Silke Aisenbrey, Yeshiva University, New York (USA)
- Torsten Biemann, University of Mannheim (D)
- Francesco Billari, Bocconi University, Milan (I)
- Benjamin Cornwell, Cornell University, Ithaca, NY (USA)
- Cees Elzinga, VU Amsterdam (NL)
- Anette Fasang, Humboldt University, Berlin (D)
- Jacques-Antoine Gauthier, University of Lausanne (CH)
- Laurent Lesnard, CNRS, SciencesPo, Paris (F)
- Marcel Raab, University of Mannheim (D)
- Jeroen K. Vermunt, Tilburg University (NL)

The EC nominated Andrew Abbott as Honorary president.

Today (December 2, 2019) the SAA has 105 regularly registered members.

Web page and associated resources

One of the first task of the EC has been the creation the <u>https://sequenceanalysis.org</u> web page with the following features:

- Online SAA membership request
- SA Bibliographic data base
- List of SA related software
- News about SAA events



- Newsletter
- Blog

The SAA is also on Twitter: @SeqAnalysisAssn

Finance

As a non-profit association, the SAA has obtained tax exoneration from the Canton Geneva and Swiss Federal Tax Administrations.

During this first year the SAA had no own financial resources and worked with a zero budget.

The creation of the logo and web site of the association as well as the domain, web hosting, and software license fees were financed through proper funds of Gilbert Ritschard and Matthias Studer at the University of Geneva.

Anette E. Fasang (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin) financed the compilation of the (ongoing) Zotero Library of the SAA that was carried on by Emanuela Struffolino and Martin Gädecke.

The site, the list of members, and the newsletter are managed on a voluntary basis by EC members. Likewise, the bibliographic data base is regularly updated by volunteers.

Scientific events

SAA symposium at the SLLS Conference in Potsdam, Sep 25-27, 2019.

Forthcoming events

First International Conference of the SAA in Milan, June 10-12, 2020 (Deadline for submitting a paper is Jan 13, 2020.)
The committee is choired by Deffectly Discorrect.

The organization committee is chaired by Raffaella Piccarreta.

Executive Committee

The president and EC members were nominated for two years. So, there is no election this year.

Next General Assembly

The next GA will be held in Milan during the International Conference of the SAA, June 10-12, 2020.

December 2, 2019

Gilbert Ritschard, President of the SAA